What are the Eight Divisions of Ayurveda by Maharishi Vagbhata

महर्षि वाग्भट

Maharishi Vagbhata was the great sage of Ayurveda, who lived his entire life on Vedic principles, worked for the expansion of Ayurveda, did a lot of research, tested them, and found out everything that was true and wrote it in simple words. There are two books written by you – Ashtanga Hridayam and Ashtanga Sangraha.

In the Ashtanga Hridayam text, Maharishi Vagbhata has initially discussed these eight main divisions of Ayurveda, on which apart from Maharishi Vagbhata, many other sages including Maharishi Atreya, Maharishi Punaravasu, Maharishi Sushruta, etc. have also done a lot of work on it. These eight parts of Ayurveda provide a common man with ease and convenience in understanding Ayurveda. So let’s have some discussion on Ashtanga Ayurveda today

Kaya Chikitsa – is the first part of Ashtanga Ayurveda

“Kayachiktsa” which means the treatment of common diseases. In today’s style, it means General Treatment in which fever, diarrhea, raktapitta (internal bleeding/blood leakage), leprosy, mania (insanity), and treatment of many diseases like epilepsy has been kept.

Bal rog chikitsa – is the second part of Ashtanga Ayurveda

“Bala Roga or Bal Rog” which means protecting children from diseases, their development and nutrition, and the whole mode and method of treatment of diseases related to children, is called pediatric medicine.

Bhootvidhya – is the third part of Ashtanga Ayurveda

“Bhoot Vidya” in which the energy of one’s body is imbalanced, in which they got affected with good and bad energy such as God, Pitra, Vampire or house barrier etc. It is called all Bhoot Vidya. A small part of this Chikisa can be seen in the temples of Lord Hanuman even today, but in many places people are being duped and deceived in its name, so everyone needs to be cautious. Such an obstacle mostly haunts a person whose own energy is very weak and he comes in contact with such bad energy.

Shalakya Tantra – is the fourth part of Ashtanga Ayurveda

Tantra means “system” and

“Shalakya Tantra” or “medicine” is that part of Ayurveda in which diseases of the eye, nose, ears, inner part and throat are treated. It describes the treatment of all parts of the throat, ans also the brain etc. Shalakya Tantra is also called “urdhwaanga chikitsa” which means healing of the upper limbs.

Shalya Tantra – is the fifth part of Ashtanga Ayurveda

“Shalakaya or Surgery” means the treatment of injury, injury with a sharp weapon, burn with fire, acid attack or acid burn person, etc., For the treatment of any injury, surgery, or some disease in which the organs have to be removed. Or the body is cut open and that deformity is removed in it, the method followed for it is called the surgical system.

Agad Tantra – is the sixth part of Ashtanga Ayurveda

“Agad Tantra” is also called Danshtra, which means to neutralize or prevent poison poisoning when bites of organisms such as snake (snake), insect (insect moth), etc. Cure or protect the person from the poison etc.

Zara Tantra – is the seventh part of Ashtanga Ayurveda

“Zara or Jara Tantra” is the system or department for the problems faced by old age or to prevent aging, it is also called Rasayana tantra.

Rasayana means that one can consume these medicines without disease or medicine can be taken for prevention. Due to which the immunity increases, the strength to fight against diseases increases, the strength of intellect increases, and the youth remain young for a long time and old becomes younger.

Vajikaran Tantra – is the eighth part of Ashtanga Ayurveda


“Vajikarana Tantra” means the department of treatment for those whose semen is weak and whose semen is not pure, who have low semen production or who do not have the ability to intercourse and have the ability to produce children, the system of treatment for all such people is called Vajikaran Tantra.

These are the eight parts of the above Ayurveda. In which different types of diseases are divided into different departments so that treatment can be accurate and simple. There are different physicians for all the departments of Ayurveda and they are proficient, skilled and master of that field. Although the esoteric science of Ayurveda is lost, it has not disappeared, if it is managed first, then it is possible that all those diseases are also possible at the time of coming from Ayurveda. Has done.


How do you feel after reading this article? Do give your opinion and feedback in the comments below.


Even if there is an error in the word while writing the article, tell it.


Presentation – Nityanandam Shree






  1. […] And this golden prize is the realization (achievement, fulfillment) of the four main goals of human life: Dharma, Artha, Kama, and Moksha. That is, health and longevity have value only as a necessary condition, as a way to achieve the goals of human life. The sage Vagbhata writes in his work “Ashtanga-hridaya-samhita“: […]

  2. Guruji main patrangasava leti hu par mjhe garmi bhi rhti hai. Toh kya main patrangasava mein chandanasav milake le sakti hu jisse mjhe patrangasava se garmi na badhe? Plz btayein ??


Leave a Reply to Nityanandam Shree Cancel reply

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here